NHRA has extremely loyal fans that are committed to the sport they love, and it’s easy to see why. They continue to have the best access to the behind-the-scenes action of racing. NHRA’s open-pits policy allows fans to get an up-close-and personal view of how teams rebuild engines. 

Interested in Partnership?

The National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) is a drag racing governing body, which sets rules in drag racing and hosts events all over the United States and Canada. With over 40,000 drivers in its rosters, the NHRA claims to be the largest motorsports sanctioning body in the world.

The association was founded by Wally Parks in 1951 in California to provide a governing body to organize and promote the sport of drag racing. NHRA’s first Nationals was held in 1955, in Great Bend, Kansas. (Typical for the era, this race was held on a World War II-constructed training air field.) The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, the national event series which comprises 24 races each year, is the premier series in drag racing that brings together the best drag racers from across North America and the world. The NHRA U.S. Nationals are now held at Lucas Oil Raceway in Clermont, Indiana and are officially called the U.S. Nationals. Winners of national events are awarded a trophy statue in honor of founder Wally Parks. The trophy is commonly referred to by its nickname, a “Wally”.

NHRA Official Program

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series continues to provide fans with a one-of-a-kind racing experience, engaging all the senses with a showcase of raw power unlike any other form of motorsports in the world. The combination of heart- pounding side-by-side competition and up-close-and-personal interactions with drivers makes NHRA events full of fun and excitement.

NHRA’s 2018 season featured some firsts for the series as new barriers were broken. The Countdown to the Championship demonstrated that every point matters as we saw racers endeavor to achieve the ultimate title: Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle, Tanner Gray in Pro Stock, J.R. Todd in Funny Car, and Steve Torrence in Top Fuel. Gray, Todd, and Torrence are all first-time champions. Torrence also became the first competitor to sweep all events in the Countdown.